LibGuides: Nursing: Databases / Articles

Databases for Finding Scholarly Articles in Nursing, Medicine, and Health

CINAHL Complete
Scholarly articles on nursing and allied health topics. Preview the new CINAHL Complete interface.
MEDLINE
MEDLINE is the most comprehensive source of journal articles in the health sciences. Please note: the citations listed in PubMed are the same citations listed in this MEDLINE via EBSCO, but PubMed provides a different search interface and is freely available to all without a subscription. Preview the new MEDLINE interface.
PubMed (MEDLINE)
Free version of MEDLINE, the most comprehensive source of journal articles in the health sciences. Go to PubMed via the library's website to access links to full-text articles in the library's electronic journal subscriptions. Look for buttons labeled "Check for Full Text" or "Free Full Text".
If the full text of the article is not linked to the PubMed citation, remember that the Library can obtain copies of articles for students, staff and faculty for free via the InterLibrary Loan Service.
Cochrane Library
Systematic reviews about healthcare treatments, interventions, methodology, and diagnostic tests for evidence-based practice.
UpToDate
UpToDate offers topical reviews providing evidence-based information to aid health care clinicians in decision-making.
ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Premium
Scholarly journal articles about nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicine. It also includes full-text dissertations, streaming videos, and evidence-based systematic reviews.
PsycINFO 1887-Current
Scholarly journal articles, books, dissertations and more on the subject of psychology. An extensive and comprehensive resource. Preview the new PsycINFO interface.
Alt-HealthWatch
Scholarly and professional articles and reports on complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Preview the new Alt-HealthWatch interface.

Databases for Finding Articles on Health-related and Other Topics

Academic Search Premier
A good starting place for articles on almost any topic - both scholarly journals and magazines are included. Preview the new Academic Search Premier interface.
Sage Journals Online
Scholarly journal articles in a wide variety of subject areas from the publisher Sage.
Wiley Online Library Full Collection
Access to the Wiley Full Collection, a multi-disciplinary collection of over 1500 peer-reviewed journals from the publisher Wiley.
ScienceDirect Journals
Access to over 2000 academic, peer-reviewed journals published by Elsevier across all subject areas.

LibKey and Google Scholar

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that connects you to library research articles and ebooks. When you are using non-library resources on the open web, such as Wikipedia and PubMed, you'll see a green flame icon next to some resources. With Google Scholar, Metro State content will display as linked full text.

To install:

Visit the page to download Nomad (https://thirdiron.com/downloadnomad/)
Click the link for your browser
After installation, search for Metro State University as your institution

OneSearch

Search OneSearch for books, ebooks, streaming films, DVDs, scholarly articles, and other materials at Metropolitan State University. OneSearch is able to search for most of the library resources, but does not include all the content in the Feature Films for Education streaming video database. That must be searched separately.