LibGuides: Nursing: Database Tutorials

PubMed Tutorials

PubMed Tutorials
An excellent, general introduction to PubMed.
PubMed: Simple Subject Search
PubMed: Search with the MeSH Database
Using Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) to search in PubMed.
PubMed: MyNCBI Saving Searches
PubMed: Downloading Results for Use in Reference Management Software

PubMed (MEDLINE)
Although PubMed is available to anyone in the world for free on the Web, using this link will give you the "Check for Full Text" buttons to allow you to easily access full text articles in our journal subscriptions.
If the full text of the article is not linked to the PubMed citation, remember that the Library can obtain copies of articles for students, staff and faculty for free via the InterLibrary Loan Service.

MeSH: Medical Subject Headings

What is MeSH?

Medical Subject Headings (MeSH), are carefully defined, official terms used to describe the subjects and topics of research articles in the health sciences.

Using MeSH can help you search more completely and more accurately on your topic. MeSH are used primarily in MEDLINE and PubMed.

For a detailed explanation of MeSH, click on the link below:

Introduction to MeSH - 2011

The MeSH Browser provides an easy way to look up the Medical Subject Headings for your topic.

MeSH Browser (via PubMed)

EBSCOhost Databases Tutorials

EBSCO Databases Advanced Search
Advanced Search functions give you more control over your searches in EBSCO databases.
My EBSCOhost Tutorial
Setting up your own "My EBSCOhost" account allows you to save citations and search strategies to a folder.

Nursing

PubMed Tutorials

MeSH: Medical Subject Headings

EBSCOhost Databases Tutorials

CINAHL Basic Searching Tutorial

CINAHL Advanced Searching Tutorial