LibGuides: History: Databases / Articles

Top Databases for Research on History: Discipline Specific

Use library databases to search scholarly and professional journals and magazines on a topic of your choice.

African American Studies Center
Reference works, articles, primary sources, and images related to African American history and culture.
Asian American Experience
This database includes a diverse variety of primary sources, perspective essays from leading Asian American studies scholars, and search and citation tools for streamlined academic research. Extensive reference libraries prepare researchers to conduct in-depth explorations of key issues, such as the role of discrimination in Asian American history and its effect on citizenship and civil liberties, the economic impacts of immigration and labor, and changing political and cultural representation.
LGBT Life with Full Text
Articles from academic journals, magazines and newspapers. Many important and historically significant LGBT sources included.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Primary sources and documents related to the history of women in U.S. social movements.
Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives, 1960 to 1974
The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960–1974 brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. This searchable collection of text and video is a valuable resource for students and scholars researching this period in American history, culture, and politics.

Top Databases for Research on History: Multi-discipline

Use library databases to search scholarly and professional journals and magazines on a topic of your choice.

JSTOR Research Articles
Scholarly articles in many disciplines. It is an archival source, meaning the full text goes back to the first issue (sometimes 100 years ago!) but it does not include the most recent 3-5 years of articles.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection
Peer-reviewed journal articles in the humanities and social sciences, including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, gender studies, economics, religious studies, and many others.
Academic Search Premier
A good starting place for articles on almost any topic - both scholarly journals and magazines are included.

Statistical Resources

Consult authoritative federal and state websites and other organizations to locate statistical information on a topic of your choice. The follow sites are relevant examples.

Historical Statistics of the United States
A standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. Users can search and download statistics and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published from 1878 to 2012, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
It is designed to serve as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to other statistical publications and sources both in print and on the Web.These sources of data include the U.S. Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.

Search Google Scholar

Be sure to visit Scholar Preferences and set your "Library Links" to Metropolitan State.