Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Psychology: Research help and tips

Psychology resources introduction and how-to screencast

Sections of the 52 minute screencast:

  • 0:55 Getting to library website and connecting with help
  • 2:55 Overview of information and links on library website
  • 3:45 Introduction to Research Guides
  • 5:00 Description of Psychology Research Guide and databases, and peer review
  • 6:30 Detailed description of the PsycInfo database
  • 9:45 Description of other databases with psychology content
  • 11:30 Description of non-psychology databases of use to psychology students
  • 12:10 Description of non-article databases
  • 13:45 Other tabs on the guide: Books and Films
  • 16:30 Encyclopedias
  • 17:30 Statistics and Data resources and other websites
  • 20:30 Database searching and strategies, starting with PsycInfo
  • 23:45 PsycInfo Advanced Search features (Here's a lot of the how-to!)
  • 35:00 Getting citation information from PsycInfo
  • 36:00 Getting information on tests/instruments
  • 39:00 Sage Database searching strategies
  • 43:45 APA citation helps on the Research Guide
  • 45:30 Using OneSearch
  • 47:45 Google Scholar
  • 50:00 Using truncated search technique (in PsycInfo)

Video created by M. Filkins in Spring 2020. During 20-21 academic year, contact Christine Larson for further assistance.

Ask Us

Reference Desk: (651) 793-1614
General information: (651) 793-1616
Email: library.services@metrostate.edu