LibGuides: NURS 700: Advanced Nursing Science: Scholarly Journal Articles

Find Journal Articles in Nursing, Medicine, and Health

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides indexing for more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with coverage dating as far back as 1937. Includes full-text for nearly 400 of the journals.
MEDLINE with Full Text
MEDLINE (via EBSCO) is the premier collection of citations from medical and other health sciences journals from the United States and around the world created by the National Library of Medicine. It currently lists over 19 million citations from over 5000 health sciences journals. Please note: The citations listed in PubMed are the same citations listed in MEDLINE via EBSCO, but PubMed provides a different search interface and is freely available to all without a subscription.

PubMed (MEDLINE)
Free version of MEDLINE, the most comprehensive source of journal articles in the health sciences. Go to PubMed via the library's website to access links to full-text articles in the library's electronic journal subscriptions. Look for buttons labeled "Check for Full Text" or "Free Full Text".
If the full text of the article is not linked to the PubMed citation, remember that the Library can obtain copies of articles for students, staff and faculty for free via the InterLibrary Loan Service.

Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library contains independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more.

Alt-HealthWatch
Scholarly and professional articles and reports on complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Preview the new Alt-HealthWatch interface.

General Article Databases

Since the library does not have separate article databases for every single academic subject, but these databases include citations for scholarly articles in a wide variety of areas. Disciplines covered by these include: religion, philosophy, biology, anthropology, geography and many more.

Academic Search Premier
A good starting place for articles on almost any topic - both scholarly journals and magazines are included. Preview the new Academic Search Premier interface.
JSTOR Research Articles
Scholarly articles in many disciplines. It is an archival source, meaning the full text goes back to the first issue (sometimes 100 years ago!) but it does not include the most recent 3-5 years of articles.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection
Peer-reviewed journal articles in the humanities and social sciences, including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, gender studies, economics, religious studies, and many others.

Subject-Specific Databases in Other Disciplines

Business Source Premier
Articles from business journals and magazines. Includes publications like the Harvard Business Review, BusinessWeek, Fortune, and Industry Week. Also contains company profiles, industry reports, and SWOT analyses. Preview the new Business Source Premier interface.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Scholarly articles on subjects related to communication and mass media. Preview the new Communication & Mass Media Complete interface.
PsycINFO 1887-Current
Scholarly journal articles, books, dissertations and more on the subject of psychology. An extensive and comprehensive resource. Preview the new PsycINFO interface.
Social Work Abstracts
Social Work Abstracts indexes and abstracts more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database covers all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems. Although this database is not full-text, you can still obtain the articles through either Full Text Journal Finder or InterLibrary Loan.
Although this database is not full-text, you can still obtain the articles through the search for full text link.
Sociological Abstracts
Scholarly articles about sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Although this database is not full-text, you can still obtain the articles through the search for full text link.

Search Google Scholar

Be sure to visit Scholar Preferences and set your "Library Links" to Metropolitan State.