It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Consumer health information the National Library of Medicine. Includes health information for patients in many languages, including Spanish, Somali, and Hmong. Note: this is NOT the same resource as the library database called MedLine, which contains scholarly medical research.
"OMIM is a comprehensive, authoritative, and timely compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes. The full-text, referenced overviews in OMIM contain information on all known mendelian disorders and over 12,000 genes. OMIM focuses on the relationship between phenotype and genotype. It is updated daily, and the entries contain copious links to other genetics resources." OMIM is a great place to start your research. For search assistance see http://omim.org/help/search
"Gene integrates information from a wide range of species. A record may include nomenclature, Reference Sequences (RefSeqs), maps, pathways, variations, phenotypes, and links to genome-, phenotype-, and locus-specific resources worldwide." This is a helpful portal to a wide variety of online genetics resources.
The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, plant links, references, crop information, and automated tools.
Official Agency Websites
Use authoriative "open" websites such as these to locate additional information on a topic of your choice.
American Institute of Biological Sciences is dedicated to advancing biological research and education for the welfare of society. AIBS membership includes more than 5,000 biologists and 200 professional societies and scientific organizations. Of special note to educators is the AIBS education website, ActionBioscience.org.