Get started with your research by exploring the following library databases. Click on the Database / Articles tab, or visit the library homepage at https://library.metrostate.edu/ and click on the icon “Databases A-Z.” Choose one of the following from the list.
Due to various federal disclosure requirements, the amount and kinds of information may be limited for some companies and organizations. As a result, less information is available in the library’s databases about small or private companies and not-for-profit organizations.
If you are researching a private company, try searching the library databases PrivCo and S&P NetAdvantage. The amount of information available on companies covered by these databases varies significantly.
Synthesize information you find researching the industry (see the above box) with information you can gather from visiting the company or organization’s website. Also glean what you can from the information available about your company’s competitors or organization’s partners.
Search for news articles about the company or organization.
For Minnesota companies and organizations, search for articles written in the local newspapers Star Tribune and Pioneer Press, which are archived in the library database ProQuest Global Newsstream. Follow these directions:
For not-for-profit organizations, search GuideStar database. Follow the same steps above, but choose the “G” tab and click on GuideStar. Once inside, search the name of your organization in the search box. This database contains nonprofit organization financial information (including the IRS Form 990), mission statements, lists of board members and senior management, and more. The information available for an organization will vary.
Identify (through a Google search, for example) relevant national, regional, or statewide associations. Browse their websites and look for research reports, statistics, or periodicals that may be useful.