LibGuides: EDU330: Teaching Children's Literature in Urban Grades K-6: Find Articles

Subject Databases

MLA International Bibliography
Scholarly articles on language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts. Preview the new MLA International Bibliography interface.
ERIC (EbscoHost)
Articles about education. This database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. The EbscoHost version provides additional search capabilities and provides links to full-text articles in the library's electronic journal subscriptions. Preview the new ERIC (EBSCOhost) interface.
Library, Information Science, & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
Journals as well as other publications in the areas of librarianship and information management. Preview the new LISTA interface.
Academic Search Premier
A good starting place for articles on almost any topic - both scholarly journals and magazines are included. Preview the new Academic Search Premier interface.
JSTOR Research Articles
Scholarly articles in many disciplines. It is an archival source, meaning the full text goes back to the first issue (sometimes 100 years ago!) but it does not include the most recent 3-5 years of articles.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection
Peer-reviewed journal articles in the humanities and social sciences, including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, gender studies, economics, religious studies, and many others.

How Library Stuff Works: Boolean Operators (AND OR NOT)

How Library Stuff Works: Boolean Modifiers "", *, ( )

Multi-database Advanced Searching (no audio)

Click on the double arrows on the bottom right corner of the video player to view full-screen.

Multi-Database Advanced Searching
Click on this link to access written steps and explanations with the video.

Using the Library's OneSearch

Using OneSearch
Library research handout containing steps, screenshots and search tips in using OneSearch to find articles, books, videos and more.

OneSearch: Search for Books, Articles, DVDs & More

Search OneSearch for books, ebooks, streaming films, DVDs, scholarly articles, and other materials at Metropolitan State University. OneSearch is able to search for most of the library resources, but does not include all the content in the Feature Films for Education streaming video database. That must be searched separately.