LibGuides: Art: Databases / Articles

Top Online Resources for Research & Tutorials on Visual Arts

Tip: Before typing in keywords, select "Subject" from the drop-down search field menu when seeking information about...

See screenshots of steps below:

From library.metrostate.edu > click the Search button > then click "Advanced Search" :

2) Then, on the Advanced Search page, in the search fields section, under the "Any fied" drop-down menu, select "Subject":

*VIDEO TUTORIAL (no audio) on subject-searching using OneSearch, watch here > https://somup.com/cTX20I9MQ6

*****

Below, explore other online reference sources and library databases to search journals and magazines on your topic.

*Note: Linkedin Learning provides tutorials covering skills applicable to graphic design, video/sound editing, and more.

SmartHistory
Smarthistory (free online resource) offers art history content provided by more than 800 leading scholars (art historians, archaeologists, and museum curators). Almost all contributors hold an earned Ph.D. All Smarthistory content has undergone an open peer-review process where it is vetted by multiple scholars including those with applicable area expertise. Every essay on Smarthistory lists the author and links to their academic credentials.

Project MUSE - Premium Collection
Peer-reviewed journal articles in the humanities and social sciences, including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, gender studies, economics, religious studies, and many others.
JSTOR Research Articles
Scholarly articles in many disciplines. It is an archival source, meaning the full text goes back to the first issue (sometimes 100 years ago!) but it does not include the most recent 3-5 years of articles.
Academic Search Premier
A good starting place for articles on almost any topic - both scholarly journals and magazines are included.
New York Times Historical Database
The New York Times (1851-2020) offers full page and article images with searchable full-text back to its first issue.
New York Times Online
Digital access to the New York Times Online, including the New York Times Magazine. Access to Cooking, Games, Wirecutter, and the Athletic is limited.
NOTE: For access, users must first register at this site. Search for Metropolitan State. This will create a NYT Online account for you that is affiliated with Metro State, which you can then use to login to NYT directly.
LinkedIn Learning
Tutorials on a wide variety of tech topics, including web design, Microsoft Office, and more. See IET's Knowledge Base article for access help and troubleshooting.