Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Top Databases: Search for Journal and Magazine Articles
Use library databases to search scholarly and professional journals and magazines on a topic of your choice.
Academic Search Premier
A good place to start your research for nearly any topic. This database covers many disciplines and provides electronic access to the full-text articles of more than 4,500+ publications, including more than 3,500+ peer-reviewed publications.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference is a collection of reference "e-books" that is searchable just like a database. The collection is made up of authoritative and respected subject encyclopedias and more. Relevant titles include The Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity, The Encyclopedia of Race and Racism and Encyclopedia Judaica..
JSTOR Research Articles
Historical, full-text access to select scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities, extending back to the beginning of their runs. (Full-text for the past 3-5 years will be absent.) The archival reach of more than a century provides a unique full-text scholarly window into what would have been "contemporary" and current issues related to genocidal events as they occurred. Use the Advanced Search to limit to disciplinary collections.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection
Searchable full-text of over 400 peer-reviewed journals in the humanities and social sciences, including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, religious studies, and many others. Two journals particularly relevant to this course of study, Genocide Studies and Prevention and Holocaust and Genocide Studies, can be accessed through this database.
Sage Journals Online
More than 500 full text, scholarly journals from Sage in the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, Medicine, and Business with backfiles that provide complete access to all issues of each included publication. The rich collections of Political Science, History, and Social Science sources are particularly useful for this topic area.
CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
CIAO is a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It contains a wide range of scholarship that includes working papers from research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals, and policy briefs. An excellent resource for exploring the contemporary global political environment.
Films on Demand Streaming Movies
Films on Demand offers over 6,000 streaming videos on a wide variety of academic topics, including a solid collection of films related to Holocaust and Genocide issues.
, Business and Management
, Citation Styles and Tools
, Computer Science
, Course Pages
, Criminal Justice
, Current Events
, Decision Sciences
, Disability Studies
, Diversity and Multiculturism
, How To Guides
, Human Resource Management
, International Business
, Law Enforcement
, Library Services
, Management Information Systems
, Nonprofit and Public Administration
, Sports and Recreation
, Subject Pages