LibGuides: Video Guide: Streaming Video Platforms

Searching and Browsing Streaming Video Platforms at Metro State University

Access to Streaming Film Platforms Provided by Metro State University Library
Streaming Platform	Discoverable within the Library's OneSearch tool?
Films on Demand (FOD)	Yes
Kanopy	Yes
Feature Films for Education	No
Academic Video Online (AVON)	Yes

OneSearch
OneSearch will search across Metro State Library databases for DVDs, videos, and films, including titles in the Films on Demand and Academic Video Online streaming video databases and some individual streaming titles. Note: Films in the streaming databases Kanopy and Feature Films for Education are NOT included in OneSearch, and so need to be searched directly.

Films on Demand
Streaming videos/movies on a wide variety of academic topics.
Kanopy
Streaming videos on a wide variety of topics.
Feature Films for Education
Feature Films for Education contains more than 620 full-length feature films for classroom use. This collection focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles for educational instructional purposes, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, Academy Award® winners, and more.
Academic Video Online
Academic Video Online includes more than 62,000 titles spanning many subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Curated for the educational experience, the content offers documentaries, films, demonstrations, and more.

Screening in Zoom and Teams

Streaming Platforms Provided by Metro State Library Permitting Streaming via Zoom or Teams
Platform	Streaming via Zoom or Teams?
Films on Demand (FOD)	Faculty may stream films in online classes via Zoom or Teams but not optimal viewing.
Kanopy	Group and class showings via Zoom or Teams are prohibited. For Zoom or Team-based courses, the Library recommends that students access Kanopy and watch the film individually and that the instructor schedule a time for class discussion.
Feature Films for Education	Faculty may stream films in online classes via Zoom or Teams but not optimal viewing.
Academic Video Online (AVON)	Faculty may stream films in online classes via Zoom or Teams but not optimal viewing. University public events may also stream films via Zoom or Teams but are restricted to intended audience.
Swank	Group and class showings via Zoom or Teams are prohibited. For Zoom or Team-based courses, the Library recommends that students access Kanopy and watch the film individually and that the instructor schedule a time for class discussion.

Accessibility

Captioning is available on most or many titles in the streaming video platforms provided by Metro State University Library.

One exception is the Films on Demand platform: captions for foreign language titles are not currently supported and titles with no audio will not have captions. Newly added titles have a captioning delay of 1-2 weeks, but captioning will be visible as soon as it is available for a specific title. Films on Demand features interactive transcripts for many of its videos: these allow you to view the full text of the video, search within the full text, or click on any word in the transcript to jump to that exact point in the video.

Audio description is not yet available on the Library's streaming video platforms, but is in process. If you need audio descriptions as an accommodation, email the Center for Accessibility Resources or phone them at 651.793.1549 for assistance.

Ask Us

Reference Desk: (651) 793-1614
General information: (651) 793-1616
Email: library.services@metrostate.edu