Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MKTG 480/680: International Marketing: Company Information

Research Companies

The amount of information available on any company is variable and depends on a number of factors, including the size of its annual revenues/sales, whether it is publicly traded or privately held, and whether it does business internationally.

It helps to know a particular company in a given industry. You can look it up and use the sources below to identify competitors (other companies).

Library Database: Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage

Search for a company in the search box.

Library Database: Business Source Premier

The Business Source Premier database provides reports about companies around the world. 

Here's how to find them.

  1. Connect to Business Source Premier (link below).
  2. Click on Company Profiles at the top.

Library Database: Business Insights: Essentials

If you are researching a particular company:

  1. Type the company in the main search box and click Search.
  2. Find it on the list and click on its name.
  3. If the information is available, locate the links Company Histories, Market Share Reports, Rankings, and SWOT Reports on the left to retrieve that information.

If you are trying to identify companies:

  1. Choose Company Finder from the "Companies" dropdown menu.
  2. Choose a country.
  3. Use this site to determine the unique NAICS code for your industry. Enter your NAICS code in the appropriate box and click Update.

Library Database: PrivCo

PrivCo is a database for identifying and researching privately held companies. Search for a company by name or use the company screener on the homepage to locate companies worldwide by country, size, or industry.

Library Database: LexisNexis Academic

To identify companies in a particular industry and country:

  1. Click on Get Company Info.
  2. Click on the small link Create a Company Dossier.
  3. Click on the tab Create a Company List.
  4. Select a country from the Regions/Countries dropdown menu.
  5. Click on either SIC Lookup or NAICS Lookup. Browse the "tree" to locate your industry. CHeck the box next to it and click the red OK button.
  6. Click the read Create button. If you've retrieved too many results, narrow by Sales/Revenue.
  7. Click on each company to see what information is available by exploring the links on the left of each profile.

Library Database: ABInform

Ask Us

Reference Desk: (651) 793-1614
General information: (651) 793-1616
Email: library.services@metrostate.edu