How to Find Newpapers

U.S. Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. U.S. Newsstream offers access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, The Wall Street Journal, and the Star Tribune, as well as large collections of local and regional newspapers.

Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of local, regional, and national news sources. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.

Digital access to the New York Times Online, including the New York Times Magazine. Access to Cooking, Games, Wirecutter, and the Athletic is limited.
NOTE: For access, users must first register at this site. Search for Metropolitan State. This will create a NYT Online account for you that is affiliated with Metro State, which you can then use to login to NYT directly.

The New York Times (1851-2020) offers full page and article images with searchable full-text back to its first issue.

Ethnic NewsWatch contains full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to often overlooked perspectives. The database also contains historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals going back to 1959.

Explore St. Paul history through local news, events, and people with this collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online.