*Template

High quality open access images that can be freely downloaded and reproduced for any purpose.

Creative Commons-licensed images that you can browse or use as noted.

Links to online image and resource collections, courtesy of the U of Michigan College of Art and Design.

Image resources available from the Metropolitan Museum of Art Collection, often available for educational use.

Over 700 leading arts sites indexed to create a searchable, thorough database of online images of visual art and the locations of the original works worldwide. Includes option to browse women artists.

Excellent site, containing profiles and general information on over 30,000 artists.

"The collections of the Prints & Photographs Division include photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people." (Search tip: to find images appropriate for fair use, add the phrase "no known restrictions" after your keywords entered in the "Search all" box.)

Over 5,000 works from the MIA permanent collection are available online. Try searching for an artist, title, or country, or browse by category.

The Timeline of Art History is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated especially by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection.

Flickr, in conjunction with a number of historical, educational, and archival institutions provides a number of photographs with "no known copyright restrictions". A good source of images that can be used for educational purposes. Users are also encouraged to assist with "tagging" and identifying the photos.

Many people who upload photos to Flickr license their work as Creative Commons. Therefore, Flickr is a great place to find images to use and also a good place to contribute to the commons with your own work Another website for searching Flickr is Compfight

The Wikimedia Foundation Commons. Images and other media are either public domain or Creative Commons licensed.

Use the advanced search and limit by license type.