This is the "Encyclopedias" page of the "Encyclopedias and Reference Sources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Encyclopedias and Reference Sources  

Last Updated: Sep 4, 2014 URL: http://libguides.metrostate.edu/electronicreferencesources Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Encyclopedias Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search Online Encyclopedias: Gale Virtual Reference Library

Search the Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference is a collection of reference "e-books" that is searchable just like a database. The collection is made up of authoritative and respected subject encyclopedias and more.

 

Search Online Encyclopedias: Credo Reference

Search Credo Reference

Electronic Encyclopedias and dictionaries on a variety of topics.

 

Search Online Encyclopedias: Oxford Reference Online

Search Oxford Reference Online

A collection of electronic reference books published by Oxford, including bilingual dictionaries, English dictionaries and reference tools, subject-specific dictionaries, and quotation books.

Online Encyclopedias and Collections of Encyclopedias

  • AccessScience
    Online encyclopedia of science and technology. Articles with references and links for further study. A good starting place for science research. Dictionary terms, biographies, images, and animations are included as well.
  • African American Studies Center
    Reference works, articles, primary sources, and images related to African American history and culture.
  • Biography in Context
    Biographies of thousands of famous people, with advanced search capabilities to allow you to search by place of origin, profession or ethnicity.
  • Britannica Online Academic Edition
    The online version of the classic encyclopedia. Supplemented with the Merriam-Webster Dictionary and Thesaurus.
  • CQ Researcher
    In-depth research reports on current events and issues including the historical background, chronology, and opposing views.
  • Credo Reference Books
    Electronic encyclopedias and dictionaries on a variety of topics.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference is a collection of reference "e-books" that is searchable just like a database. The collection is made up of authoritative and respected subject encyclopedias and more.
  • Oxford Reference Online
    A collection of electronic reference books published by Oxford, including bilingual dictionaries, English dictionaries and reference tools, subject-specific dictionaries, and quotation books.
 

Ask Us

Live chat is currently unavailable.

Please email us or call (651) 793-1616 for assistance.

Library and reference desk hours of service

Reference desk:
(651) 793-1614
Information desk:
(651) 793-1616

library.services@metrostate.edu

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip